Not your normal tweeter

Okay, I’ll admit it. I, Sarah Cole, do have a Twitter account. I heard it was the new craze, and Facebook was starting to eat at my nerves, so I decided to join. Yet, although I have a Twitter, I am not what one would call a “tweeter.” I’ve had my account for over a year, and I’ve produced a whopping 107 tweets. Impressive, huh? (Insert sarcasm here). I just never really got into it. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a really cool concept and I do feel as though it’s taking over the social media world, but for some reason, Twitter just isn’t my thing. I’m not very witty, so the whole hashtag kicker thing doesn’t’ work well for me. I’m also really bad at the back-and-forth direct communication thing. I don’t even like texting!

But, as the world of journalism evolves, so do I, or at least I should. I must change with the times if I want to make it in this digital world. But Twitter? Sigh. If I must…

Now that I am an official “tweeter,” it’s important that I understand the concept a little more. It’s also important that I understand the difference between a good and bad tweeter. Dyer’s article on the top 20 Twitter analytics tools provided me with some valuable information as to different programs I can use to help me enter Twitter land with a little more confidence. Here’s what I learned. Twitter is more than a means of communication. It’s also a means of promotion. See, I’m more into Facebook when it comes to that kinda stuff. I started up my own photography business a few years back, and Facebook helped me promote my work. Go me! But now I can do this with Twitter as well? That just seems so strange. At least with Facebook, I have my own personal page and different albums to showcase my work. Twitter is just so text oriented, I don’t feel as though it’d work quite as well for my business.

Here are some cool tools I wouldn’t mind using for my Twitter page:

  • TweetPsych-what a neat concept! It uses two linguistic analysis algorithms to produce a psychological profile of a tweeter. The analysis is based upon tweet content. They do recommend that the profile has at least 1000 tweets and updates.
  • Twittercounter-great for providing statistics of your followers, those you’re following, and daily tweets. Perfect for aiding you in the “redesign” process.
  • Twitter Analyzer-for those who adore Google Analytics. Twitter Analyzer offers a variety of information: see who’s online, your “re-tweeters,” what people are saying about you, your tweeting habits and much, much more.

Twitter and Trendly:

Now Twitter is working on its own program. Trendly takes every single analytics tool out there and combines it into one, great tool. It’ll be a great program for anyone and everyone looking to reach a large audience via Twitter. It’ll be interesting to see what Trendly has to offer as well as the changes it’ll make to those hardcore tweeters out there.

Here’s a little happy.

5 comments

  1. nzgorski · February 17, 2012

    I joined Twitter about a little over a year ago with a person account and initially felt the same way. If there is one thing that I soon realized is that it is a great tool search about topics and trends. In some instances it works better than search engines because you can measure moods and opinions on certain topics. It’s also very easy to find others who share your passions and interests. You mention that you don’t think your photography business would integrate well with twitter but you’d be surprised! TwitPics and Instagram photos are typically the posts that generate the most buzz.

    One of my personal favorite Twitter users is Darren Rovell from CNBC. He tweets about the business behind sports. Last summer he put out a list of his 100 twitter rules to live by and these tips are spot on. I’ve kept them bookmarked so I can go back and keep my self on course. Here is the link if you are interested in reading it. http://www.cnbc.com/id/43759244/The_100_Twitter_Rules_To_Live_By

    Good luck with everything and I hope you find Twitter to be a better fit than you originally realized!

    -Nick

    • sarahcoleua · February 17, 2012

      Thanks for the comment, Nick! I’m slowly starting to realize how helpful Twitter can be. It just took some time for me to accept it, I think. And thank you so much for the link! I’ll definitely check it out.

  2. George Daniels · February 18, 2012

    Discovering Twitter is a journey, a time-consuming journey. But, it’s wonderful what you can learn along the way. I appreciate how you “personalized” the discussion we had last week about Twitter in class. Confessions of a normal tweeter is destined to be one of the most talked about blog posts of the week.

  3. ehilkert · February 20, 2012

    If Facebook helped further your photography, I have no doubt Twitter can do the same and more. I understand your reservations with Twitter, as I have them too. What can you really say in 140 words or less? Not a whole lot, but you can link to longer posts. For instance, you can shamelessly promote this very blog by providing a link to it on your Twitter. Don’t you just love Twitter?

  4. Pingback: Alabama Journalism Grad Students Catch the Blogging Bug « BAMAPRODUCER

Leave a Reply

