You know what I love more than surveys?

Being chased by wild dogs (Katie, that’s just for you). Sleeping on a bed of nails while Kathy Lee Gifford sings me bedtime lullabies. At least after Monday’s class, I now know what I don’t want to do, and that’s make surveys for a living. Sorry George Daniels.

You’d think it wouldn’t be that complicated. But making sure you word the questions in a clear and concise way, ask questions that will provide valuable insight to what you’re trying to study, decide between ranking, open-ended, and “check all that apply” responses–let’s just say, it gets a little overwhelming, to the point where I just want to toss my computer out the window while hysterically laughing as it plummets to the ground.

But I will say, we did come up with some pretty good questions and I’m anxious to see the feedback. Alright. I can’t think of anything nice to say about the whole survey experience.

Here’s a little happy off Bama Memes. Nice…

4 comments

  1. christicowan · March 1, 2012

    Haha, I understand your frustration. At some point I felt like giving up, but once I had everything in Survey Monkey, it turned out looking really great. I can’t wait for yall to see it!

  2. Pingback: Surveys and Google Documents | Read, Write, Edit
  3. Kelsey · March 1, 2012

    You should look into http://www.wayin.com as well! A whole site about surveys, polls, engagement and conversation!

  4. George Daniels · April 1, 2012

    The reflection on surveys is quite enlightening. Survey question development is definitely not very exciting. The important thing is that you know how it’s done. Glad you stuck it out till the end.

Leave a Reply

