Sabrina called…she wants her broom back

One thing I love about social media is that you can see what’s “trending” at the current moment, whether it be halfway across the world or right within your own town. It’s quite entertaining. Someone starts something, it turns into a huge craze, everyone joins in, and next thing you know, there are 500 different stories on your news feed featuring the infamous plankers or “what people think I do” memes. But somehow, I’m always the last to know. Perhaps it’s because I have more important things to do like “free reading” or watching squirrels fight in my backyard. I don’t know.

As I was preparing myself for an intense reading session for my Contemporary Issues class, I got a little sidetracked and decided to scan my news feed for some exciting gossip, maybe some interesting life updates, but instead, this is what I found:

And that’s only half of them. Seems like my friends have jumped on the broom trick fad, which I haven’t heard of until today. The big question is what’s causing the brooms to stand? A few of my friends made a comment about how the planets are aligning and that’s causing the brooms to balance. Other blamed it on a drop in the gravitational pull of the moon. I just couldn’t rely on those little facts. So, being the curious little nerd that I am, I decided to Google this “broom trick” to see what’s it’s all about.

Turns out, this broom trick started up back in ’09. Wow. I am behind. But for some reason, it recently turned into a little craze. Kinda like the whole Bernie dance. That song came out a few years ago (maybe ’08 or ’09? I’m not exactly sure), but a year or so ago, people everywhere were pulling out their Bernie moves on the dance floor and posting YouTube videos of group routines. Wild.

Well, back to the whole broom thing. Apparently, it has nothing to do with space or science really. It’s more about the physics, or so says one professor at Texas A&M University:

The broom can stand by itself, he said, because the center of gravity is directly above the edge on which it balances. And the bristles are soft enough to spread out a bit at the contact point with the floor and provide a stable base to support the handle and allow the broom to balance.

So there you have it. Now, I’m not saying that’s the right answer and there’s no other explanation. Nevertheless, Joe Ross seems like a pretty reliable source, and his answer seems more probable than the whole “planets aligning” idea. But who knows? Maybe the rumors are true! Or maybe the aliens have somehow broken into the Earth’s electromagnetic field causing a break in the gravitational force of the moon which causes brooms to stand. Next thing you know, they’ll be dancing around your kitchen with buckets of water while that tiny mouse that’s been hiding in your cupboard for the past six months prances around in a sorcerer’s hat casting a few magic spells. Let’s just hope he has a cleaning spell. My kitchen floor could use a good mopping.

6 comments

  1. christicowan · March 3, 2012

    I was wondering about this last night! I kept seeing those posts, but there was never any explanation. I’m always curious about where these silly ideas come from. It seems that many more of your friends were partaking than mine. Did you try it? I was not sucked into the craze.

    Also, I appreciate your YouTube link. I love anything involving Mickey Mouse.

  2. Katie Wood · March 3, 2012

    I must admit that I tried this with my broom today. Newsflash: It didn’t work… but I won’t blame it on the planets, I think it’s my broom’s fault. (It’s kind of slanty.)

    Love the post, and the link to the Bernie dance!! hahaha

  3. Ashley · March 4, 2012

    is your refrigerator running?

  4. Mary · March 5, 2012

    So that explains everyone standing in a circle around a broom at Gray the other night!!! I had no idea what was going on… I thought I was going to be sacrificed or something…

  5. ehilkert · March 6, 2012

    Now if only my broom could summon Nicholas Cage into my kitchen to say he has chosen me, and not Jay Baruchel, to play his apprentice in the soon-to-be-in-production sequel to the Disney hit (there actually are currently no plans for such a sequel).

    I am very behind the times. I had no idea about the Bernie dance and your post alerted me to this recent broom phenomenon. But I don’t feel bad. The original Fantasia is better anyway.

Leave a Reply

