Hooty-hoo!

I have a bit of a problem. It’s gotten out of hand, actually. I’m beginning to wonder if it’s normal. Allow me to reintroduce myself:

Hi. My name is Sarah Cole and I am obsessed with owls.

I think it’s hereditary. My Granny had the same problem. Her house was full of owl clocks, trinkets, miniature statues, paintings, jewelry. The list goes on. Growing up, I began my own little collection of owl pieces, back before owls were “cool.” I hate to sound like one of those American Spirit smokin’, thick-rimmed glasses and skinny jean wearin’, indie-alternative “oh you’ve never heard of this band? That’s why I’m cool” hipster kids, but it’s the honest truth. Although I now have an assortment of owl inspired goodies to choose from, I can’t help but get a little heated when I see someone decked out in owl jewelry. I know. I’m not the only person out there who loves owls, but geez.

Okay. I’ve gotten a little sidetracked. Back to the point of the story. I have an owl obsession and I don’t know how to control it. Here’s a list of owls that I own:

  1. (3) owl necklaces
  2. (1) owl bracelet
  3. (3) owl rings
  4. an owl pen
  5. a ceramic owl indoor flower pot
  6. an owl candle
  7. an owl trinket type thing
  8. a glass owl perfume bottle (thank you, Granny)
  9. an owl bag
  10. a funky owl mirror

I’m sure there’s more, but, as if I don’t own enough owls, I went out and bought the most adorable retro owl necklace today. I had no intentions of buying anything. I was wandering around Midtown with a friend and decided to stop by Charming Charlie to spend a gift card the office gave me for Christmas. I ended up not wasting the gift card on it since the necklace was only $5. I promise, I tried talking myself out of buying it for approximately two seconds, right after I told myself that I wasn’t allowed to purchase anymore owl pieces, but how could I say no with those big hoot eyes staring me in the face? I mean, look at it. It’s adorable!

And the fact that I almost hit a giant brown owl, and I mean GIANT, doesn’t even change my opinion of them. I can’t even find a picture or any information on the species. Just know that it was huge and I was terrified when I encountered it on the dark, winding road to my trailer in Livingston. This was back during my undergrad days. I remember heading home one night, around midnight, and as I approached my place, I noticed this huge brown lump in the middle of the road. I started slowing down, unsure of what it was. As soon as I got up on it, the thing whipped his head around to reveal a huge pair of yellow eyes. As I began screaming for my dear life (and the owl’s), the bird raised its massive wings at me right before it decided to take off towards the woods. Terrifying. It was one creepy looking owl.

So not only am I the creepy cat lady, I’m also the creepy owl obsessed lady. If only I could have one for a pet. I’d name him Hedwig.

3 comments

  1. moresequinsplease · March 26, 2012

    haha I love owls too Hallmark store has the cutest owl pillows btw…just saying.lol

    • sarahcoleua · March 27, 2012

      Oh no! Don’t tell me that…now I’ll have to check them out :)

  2. George Daniels · April 1, 2012

    CAn’t say I’ve ever paid much attention to owls in Alabama. Thanks for sharing this little known part of life (at least known about you– by me an instructor)

Leave a Reply

