Felicita!

I’ve spent the past eight years pleasing others. I would have said 23 (which is my age), but honestly, those first 15 are a blur. And besides. I was a kid, and a happy one at that, so no need to dampen that nostalgia. But once I hit 16, things changed.

I recently stumbled upon my very first blog on LiveJournal. My thoughts went from pure happiness and innocence to straight terror in less than a week. Perhaps it was a combination of teen angst and the things I never thought I’d ever have to deal with shattering that last bit of Blake-esque-innocence, forcing me to face reality, grow up and figure my life out.

I’m an old soul, yet young at heart.

I attended West Alabama to make my parents happy and graduated in three years because I truly despised that place. I got out as fast as I could, moved on to earn my masters and finally accepted the fact that I have no idea what I’m doing. So, I decided it’s time I do something for myself.

I have dreamed of venturing across Europe for as long as I can remember. I’m young, I’ve accomplished quite a few things, made my parents proud, been through some rough stuff. I have no plans, so, in six months, I’ll be jetting 10 hours overseas to spend a year where I belong. I was a little skeptical about confronting my parents with this idea, but I’ve proved myself and what they want most is for me to be happy, so they’re permitting this little adventure of mine.

Now it’s time to start planning as I anxiously wait for October to arrive. Where should I go? Where should I stay? What should I pack? Where will I work? Thanks to my lovely friend, Katie, I now have a better idea of the steps I should take to get there. Of course, with me being a lowly graduate student who still has to pay off her loans, this entire trip will be constructed on a budget. Work Away, hostels, couch surfing. My belongings simple: backpack, notebook, pocket translator and camera. The real deal. Something I’ve never done before. No plans, no worries.

I am pumped.

So, in honor of this exciting news, I decided to start compiling a European list that I will (hopefully) live by while there…which will be compiled randomly throughout each day, just as a stumble upon things. And I’m open to suggestions, of course :)

Ciao!

Leave a Reply

