Photographer Appreciation Month

Did you know that October is National Photographer Appreciation Month? So how about someone show me their appreciation by giving me a shoulder massage. They’re swollen and throbbing after a long day at Talladega.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. (88) talks to the press about his wreck during the last lap at Talladega Superspeedway Sunday evening. (Sarah Cole/al.com)

Talladega. My first big assignment for al.com. Let’s just say, it was rather interesting. At times, being a girl with a camera has its disadvantages. Loud, drunk, redneck men see it as an opportunity for harassment. As I wandered through the infield of Talladega Superspeedway yesterday afternoon, men would hoot and holler at me from the tops of their campers and decked out “Dega buses,” asking me to join them inside for a beer. “Damn girl, you fine” seems to be the favored pickup line of NASCAR fans.

Nevertheless, it was worth the pain. I got some interesting shots and hung out with my old friends, Bill Wilson and Marty, from The Anniston Star. What would I have done without them yesterday? I watched part of the race from Jr.’s pit box, ventured through the garage, and got the “royal” media treatment. I left at 5 a.m. and made it home around 10 that night. After 15 minutes of Skyping with my long-haired man friend, Jake, I passed smooth out. I feel old.

Work has been a little slow today. No assignments. Just me journeying through the city in search of features, but yesterday took a toll on me, and my draininess (yes, draininess) has me in a weird funk where I just want to head home, eat some left over meatloaf and taters as a watch an episode of Freaks and Geeks, after I tidy my apartment up a bit. My sink is full of dishes and it’s been bugging me since Saturday. I just get so tired of constantly washing everything after cooking and the maintenance people still haven’t come to fix my dishwasher. It’s been four weeks since I put in a work order. Every time I stop by the office, they tell me they haven’t forgotten about me, but apparently they have.

Two more hours in the office. What can I get into? Perhaps another cup of coffee…

Leave a Reply

