I can kick a black bear over those mountains over there

While in my car, stopped at a red light early this afternoon, I began to cry–hysterically–over food. I mean, full on freak out session. Just balling and wailing. See, I had gone to the gym two hours prior to this moment, and after the gym, I ran a few errands. And here’s the thing, after working out, I become extremely hungry, and when I don’t get to eat, I become hangry.

Hangry – Hungry and angry, especially when the anger is induced by the hunger. 

That happens more often than it should. During this hangry moment, I began to think of all the wonderful, fattening foods I’m no longer allowed to eat, and that made me even more hangry. I really love food. I actually consider eating a hobby. It’s something I enjoy doing, but now that I’ve decided to make a few healthy changes in my life, I can no longer indulge on the glorious foods I once ate. I know, my life is so hard. (Sarcasm)

But then I got home, ate a giant salad topped with delicious veggies and some roasted chicken from the night before, and suddenly everything was just fine.

Despite how angry and unmotivated I get at times, this whole new lifestyle is actually pretty rewarding. I was never, and I mean never, one for going to the gym. In my 25 years of living, I had probably worked out maybe 46 times total. But now, I have been working out for a year, and I love it. I really do. I mean, when I first started, I wasn’t doing too great. I was unfamiliar with lifts and machines. Didn’t know how to work out specific parts of the body. I had no idea what a “superset” was. I was completely lost. And even a few months of hitting the gym, I still wasn’t completely serious about it.

But over the past 5 months, I’ve really buckled down by lifting more, tracking my strength, adding cardio, and most importantly, eating better. I may sound like one of those crazed gym rats, which I’m definitely not. I’m just really enjoying every step of this process. I have a long way to go. I’m aiming for that point where I can put on an outfit and actually feel comfortable and confident. Not for anyone else. Just for me. It may sound a little superficial, but who doesn’t want to feel good? I just want to whip on a swimsuit in the summertime and be like BOOM!

Anyhew. One thing I’ve learned from working out is that I have extremely strong legs. Like, extremely stroooooong legs, which is quite unbelievable considering I’ve never been much of an athlete. I can press 400 lbs. Okay. So it’s nothing too outrageous, but it’s a lot to me.

Just for fun, here are a few things I can lift, move, and press with my legs:

1.) A drum full of oilOil

2.) An average adult male lionLion

3.) A pianoScreen shot 2014-01-08 at 5.55.36 PM

4.) A black bearScreen shot 2014-01-08 at 5.57.05 PM

5.) And this guy, Tony Picard, the 400 lb. high school running backScreen shot 2014-01-08 at 5.57.36 PM

So, alright, maybe I can’t actually lift or move them with my legs, but it sure is possible. All I’m saying is that, if I was being attacked by a black bear while hiking out in the woods one day, I’d like to thing I could drop kick that big boy off me. Maybe, just maybe, I’d press kick him so hard in the gut that he’d go flying off, in slow motion of course, into the distance, giving me a chance to run to safety, living to to tell the tale of ole Power Legs (that’s me, incase you were wondering.) Now, if that’s not enough to give someone a little confidence, well then, I don’t know what is.

Leave a Reply

